Matching Gift Challenge: The NCUGRHA is sponsoring a Matching Gift Challenge thanks to two resolute and dedicated supporters.
Gift donations will be matched dollar for dollar up to $10,000.

Juneteenth Celebration: Register for the "Colors of Freedom" tour on Saturday, June 22, 2024
(registration deadline is June 20, 2024)

About Us


Winter 2008 marked the start of year four since the North Country Underground Historical Association (NCUGRHA) was launched at the North Country Cultural Center for the Arts in Plattsburgh, New York as a committee of inspired volunteers. We have celebrated the lives of abolitionists and freedom seekers ever since, with a special focus on rediscovery of the Champlain Line of the Underground Railroad. We concentrate on the UGRR history of seven northeastern New York counties—Washington, Warren, Saratoga, Essex, Clinton, Franklin, St. Lawrence—and contiguous areas in Vermont and Canada. We are advancing the national and international importance of this region. To access information on the NCUGRHA for these counties go to People and Places.


  • Research
  • Exhibits
  • Preservation of historic sites
  • Instructional Materials
  • Media Presentations
  • Dramatic readings and displays

Our Charter

North Country Underground Railroad Historical Association (NCUGRHA) was granted a charter by the New York State Department of Education and 501(c)(3) not for profit status in 2005. Our members give dramatic readings, lectures, and presentations in schools, colleges, and for the general public.

Our Vision

We inspire all people to rise above their differences and celebrate the importance of freedom to the survival of the human spirit.

Our Mission

To research, preserve, interpret, and promote the Underground Railroad history of Northeastern New York's Waterways to Freedom and to celebrate the importance of that history and its relevance and significance to our own time.

Board of Trustees

Jacqueline Madison
1st Vice-President
John Mitchell
Andrea Baer
  • Andrea Baer
  • Robin Caudell
  • Lawrence Hobson
  • James Kloiber
  • Thomas LaBombard
  • Connie Mandeville
  • Margaret McGannon
  • Frank Perusse (Emeritus)
  • Dick Ward
  • LeGita Williams, Parliamentarian
  • Rosanna Wise