Qui sommes-nous?

Historique

L'hiver 2008 marquait le début de la quatrième année depuis qu'un comité de volontaires passionnés lançait l'idée de l'Association Historique du Chemin de Fer Clandestin du Pays du Nord (NCUGRHA) au North Country Cultural Center for the Arts à Plattsburgh, NY. Depuis, nous célébrons la vie des abolitionnistes et de ceux qui recherchaient leur liberté, en nous concentrant en particulier sur la redécouverte de la ligne du Chemin de Fer Clandestin du lac Champlain. Nous explorons principalement l'histoire du Chemin de Fer Clandestin des sept comtés du nord-est de l'État de New York—Les comtés de Washington, Warren, Saratoga, Essex, Clinton, Franklin, et St. Lawrence—et les zones adjacentes au Vermont et au Canada. Nos efforts contribuent à faire reconnaître l'importance nationale et internationale de cette région. Pour plus de renseignements sur le NCUGRHA pour ces comtés voir People and Places.


Activités

  • Recherche
  • Expositions
  • Conservation des sites historiques
  • Fiches pédagogiques
  • Présentations médiatiques
  • Lectures théâtrales et expositions

Notre charte

L'Association Historique du Chemin de Fer Clandestin du Pays du Nord (NCUGRHA) a reçu une charte du Département de l'Éducation de l'État de New York et le statut d'organisation à but non lucratif 501 (c)(3) en 2005. Nos membres font des lectures théâtrales, des conférences, et des présentations pour les écoles, les établissements d'études supérieures, ainsi que pour le grand public.

Notre vision

Nous inspirons tous les hommes et toutes les femmes à s'élever au-dessus de leurs différences et à célébrer l'importance de la liberté pour la survie de l'esprit humain.

Notre mission

Notre mission est d'effectuer des recherches, conserver, interpréter, et promouvoir l'histoire des voies navigables du nord-est de l'État de New York qui menaient à la liberté et faisaient partie du Chemin de Fer Clandestin; c'est aussi de célébrer l'importance de cette histoire ainsi que sa pertinence et sa signification pour notre époque.


Conseil d'administration

Agents d'administration
Présidente
Jacqueline Madison
Vice-Président
à determiner
Trésorière
Susan Crowningshield
Secrétaire
Kathleen LaVoie
Membres du conseil d'administration
  • Julius Archibald
  • Harold Bedoukian
  • Elizabeth Cohen
  • John Mitchell
  • Don Papson
  • Frank Perusse
  • Dick Ward

About Us

History

Winter 2008 marked the start of year four since the North Country Underground Historical Association (NCUGRHA) was launched at the North Country Cultural Center for the Arts in Plattsburgh, New York as a committee of inspired volunteers. We have celebrated the lives of abolitionists and freedom seekers ever since, with a special focus on rediscovery of the Champlain Line of the Underground Railroad. We concentrate on the UGRR history of seven northeastern New York counties—Washington, Warren, Saratoga, Essex, Clinton, Franklin, St. Lawrence—and contiguous areas in Vermont and Canada. We are advancing the national and international importance of this region. To access information on the NCUGRHA for these counties go to People and Places.


Activities

  • Research
  • Exhibits
  • Preservation of historic sites
  • Instructional Materials
  • Media Presentations
  • Dramatic readings and displays

Our Charter

North Country Underground Railroad Historical Association (NCUGRHA) was granted a charter by the New York State Department of Education and 501(c)(3) not for profit status in 2005. Our members give dramatic readings, lectures, and presentations in schools, colleges, and for the general public.

Our Vision

We inspire all people to rise above their differences and celebrate the importance of freedom to the survival of the human spirit.

Our Mission

To research, preserve, interpret, and promote the Underground Railroad history of Northeastern New York's Waterways to Freedom and to celebrate the importance of that history and its relevance and significance to our own time.


Board of Trustees

Officers
President
Jacqueline Madison
Vice-President
TBD
Treasurer
Susan Crowningshield
Secretary
Kathleen LaVoie
Board Members
  • Julius Archibald
  • Harold Bedoukian
  • Elizabeth Cohen
  • John Mitchell
  • Don Papson
  • Frank Perusse
  • Dick Ward